The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Meagan’s Pick:

(Scholastic Press, August 2010)

This may be cheating by calling the trilogy one book, but I couldn’t pick just one to review- I loved them all!  Suzanne Collins has created a post-apocalyptic semi-dystopic world where what used to be North America is now divided into thirteen districts and the Capitol. Every year each of the districts (excluding 13 as is was destroyed 74 years ago – as the Capitol would like you to believe) selects a boy and girl between the ages of 12 and 18 to participate in the Hunger Games. Essentially, 24 go in, 1 comes out after days of danger, death, and slaughter.

Collins does a wonderful job of creating the characters and their world, while managing to show links between the history of what was before and giving what I took as a personal observation at attempts at high fashion in the Capitol (hot pink wigs, pea green skin, extreme plastic surgery…) as reflected from ever-growing trends of today. I loved all three books, and would be hard pressed to choose a favorite. While you can get away with not reading the series in order, you’re missing a lot if you choose to go this route as Collins doesn’t spend a lot of time recapping what happened in other books.

All three are very fast reads, and nearly impossible to put down. True, they are aimed primarily at the Young Adult audience, but older and younger readers alike will enjoy these books immensely. I’d recommend them to anyone.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s