“Into the Wilderness” series by Sara Donati

Shirley’s Fiction pick:

Into the Wilderness (Bantam, 1999)

If you are looking for adventure, history and romance all entwined in one, then this is the series for you.  This is one of my favorite books and series and one that I could not put down.

The first book “Into the Wilderness” starts off with Elizabeth Middleton, a spinster, who leaves England in 1792 to join her father in a remote New York mountain village.  It is here that she meets the love of her life, Nathaniel Bonner.  Nathaniel is a Native American Mohawk living in his family settlement (Lake in the Clouds) outside of the village of Paradise, New York.  The town is made up of a strange mix of people, Scots, English, Americans, blacks, and Indians where they weave a very interesting life and try to get along with one another.

Indulge yourself into Elizabeth and Nathaniel’s journey of romance, adventure and history.  They take you to many far off places in the world where you will get lost in the characters and their familiesand friends as they grow, love and marry.

Once you finish reading “Into the Wilderness”dive right in to the others in the series.  They are: #2 – Dawn on a Distant Shore ; #3 – Lake in the Clouds ; #4 – Fire along the sky ; #5 –Queen of swords ; #6 – Endless forest.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s